Heatwave

So we’re in the middle of the longest sustained heatwave in about a century here in Ireland. As a result I haven’t managed to do much in the way of hobby as I’ve been busy enjoying the sunshine with the family. Damn you real life!

But I have managed to do a little. For Father’s Day I got the excellent Shadespire and the Skaven warband. I’ll do a separate post on those when I get a chance. My main focus here is on the other big purchase I’ve made; Soul Wars, the excellent 2nd Edition box set for Warhammer Age of Sigmar.

I ordered this and the Stormcast Eternals Battletome. When I started this blog it was because of AoS and the steps GW had taken to kill off the ‘tournament malaise’ that had basically strangled Warhammer Fantasy to death. AoS was a brave step, scrapping points and army lists in favor of narrative action and scenario based games. I loved the approach but couldn’t afford to jump in (again, damn you real life!)

Lately I’ve managed to unload old stuff I’m not using and bought the Soul Wars box. And what a box. From the artwork to the models the production quality is excellent.

Included are two forces, the Stormcast Eternals and Nighthaunt. Both forces are stunning and comprise push fit, easy to build models. This cuts down on the box to table time that multi part kits involve.

Lots of frames of models. No better sight.

The main bulk of the box contains reading material. Lots of reading material. You get the full hardcover Core Book, which is about 60% background detailing the history of the Age of Sigmar, a look at each of the Mortal Realms and the different factions vying for control of them. This is a hefty tome and is full colour with plenty of photos of painted models to inspire. The rules themselves don’t take up much of the book but what is in there covers all three play modes (open, narrative and match play) giving plenty of options for hours of game time.

Also in the box are warscroll cards for each unit plus several booklets. There are Start Here’ and assembly instruction booklets that will get any new players gaming pretty much as soon as the models are assembled. There’s also a separate Core Rules booklet that is ideal for slipping into an army case or backpack so you don’t have to carry the Core Book around. There is also a Battle for Glymmerforge booklet that contains extra background for the units in the box and extra rules, detailing a specific campaign in the opening stages of Nagash’s assault on the Realms.

I’ve been painting the Stormcast from the Shadespire box to begin my army. Work in progress below. I intend to do the whole army in this scheme.


Leave a comment