And done

Finally finished the River Dragon and pleased with the results. I’ve never painted a model with such a limited colour palette before and didn’t know if it would work. Initially I had planned on painting the sphere the dragon sits on in brass or gold to break the blues up but I’m glad I didn’t. This is a stunning model from a set of stunning models.

I also had planned on a lighter shade for the main upper body at the start but as it progressed I really liked the contrast between the dark blue and whites so only did minimal highlights.

For the face I was aiming for a sort of foam effect, as though the face was formed by a breaking wave top. Not sure I captured that fully but I feel it is near to that.

Overall I’m pleased with how this turned out. Now, on to the next project, a Mantic Neo Bots team for Dreadball.


Leave a comment